Top Softball Colleges Outside of Division I

December 15, 2011
by Justin

Welcome back to the Frozen Rope. The Frozen Rope is a college softball blog written by the @HempsteadHuddle, and provided to you by ScoutMe. The first week’s blog was all about the new softball bats for the 2012 season. Volume two, was about the top girl’s college softball programs in Division I. This week will be a continuation of that story with an additional aspect that Scoutme is all about; the college athlete who is not highly recruited, but looking for an opportunity at the next level. There are plenty of girl’s college softball programs with championship pedigree that are looking for players like you; let’s look at them.


2011 Division II National Champion UC San Diego

The Tritons of UC San Diego are the defending national championship, girl’s college softball team for Division II. The UC San Diego girl’s college softball squad is led by Patti Gerckens. Gerckens led the UC San Diego softball team to its first ever national championship in her 19th season as the girl’s college softball coach in 2011. Gerckens has had seven NCAA postseason appearances and five at the Division II level. She guided the Tritons to a perfect 9-0 record in the 2011 girl’s college softball NCAA Tournament. The Tritons ended their season on top, with a 10-3 win over the No. 1 Alabama-Huntsville in the girl’s college softball, title game. Her overall record is 485-433, and has 19 years on the beautiful La Jolla campus. If you are interested in UC San Diego girl’s college softball, fill out this questionnaire.


2011 Division III National Champion Linfield

Located in McMinnville, Oregon, Linfield College is one of the two top-tier girl’s college softball teams in Oregon that brought home the national title last year. Their coach Jackson Vaughan leads the Linfield girl’s college softball team to the field every spring. In nine seasons, Vaughan has had a 368-86-1 record, including a 234-34 mark in the Northwest Conference. Vaughan also is responsible for Linfield’s 2007 and 2011 NCAA Division III girl’s college softball national championships. Linfield also has four West Region titles and eight straight conference crowns under his regime. In 2007 and 2011, Vaughan was honored as the Division III girl’s college softball coach of the year, and has been named his conference’s softball Coach of the Year the last eight seasons. In 2004, he and the Lady Wildcats upset the No. 1-ranked East Texas Baptist in the regional playoffs, and in 2011, Vaughan guided the Wildcats to their second girl’s college softball national championship and third NCAA title appearance in five seasons. If you are interested in the girl’s college softball program at Linfield, fill out this questionnaire.


2011 NAIA National Champion Oregon Tech

The Lady Owls of Oregon Tech girl’s college softball team won its first national championship in 2011. The Lady Owls went 42-13 in girl’s college softball coach, Greg Stewart’s eighth year at the helm. In seven seasons, Stewart has collected 226 wins and a NAIA girl’s college softball Coach of the Year award. If you are interested in playing girl’s college softball at Oregon Tech, fill out this questionnaire.



That’s all for our journey this week. I hope this information will assist in your recruiting process. Remember to do your own research so that you can figure out what girl’s college softball school and division suits your talent; Oregon Tech, Linfield and UC San Diego are just three of over a hundred great girl’s softball programs that are available. Be sure to continue to hit the cages and practice because there is nothing that takes the place of great technique and hours of hard work. Check back next week for another installment. Until the next time, this is your favorite softball blog, The Frozen Rope, and this is Yorick Hempstead signing off.



Yorick Hempstead is an ex-college athlete who is a sports blogger for ScoutMe. He is always talking sports on twitter @HempsteadHuddle.

Create Your FREE Profile

First Name: *
Last Name: *
e-Mail: *
I am a: *
Captcha code: *